Pargol Hashemnia

October 3, 2009

8 Identities in 2 Hours and 45 Minutes

Filed under: Uncategorized — pargol444 @ 8:05 am

It’s 3am. I’m exhausted after a long day of university and essays. I had two papers due and had a mid-term exam. Worst of all, bad luck was following me and made me crash my car. Overall it was a bad day, one of many.

And here I am. Blue pajamas, hair tied back, big black rings under my eyes after two nights of no sleep. For sure, it’s not the best picture, certainly not the way that I want to be seen. I desperately need a few hours of sleep, so I get into bed, turn off the light, open my laptop, and visit www.facebook.com. As soon as I type in my password, I become a new person and gain a new identity. First things first, I change my profile picture. I use a picture from summer vacation two months ago. I’m at a party, my hair is done, and I’m wearing my beautiful brand name dress. I have a huge smile on my face, and enjoying myself in a party on a hot summer night. This is how I want to be seen.

A chat window pops up. My friend from Los Angeles wants to talk to me. He compliments my new profile picture. I say thanks without mentioning that it belongs to a time a few months back. True, it doesn’t depict me in my present state, but I cannot put on a picture of now. They’d think I’d gone crazy.

I log out. The next stop is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niOHVIuZz2k .I heard my friends talking about Ahmadinejad’s new animated video on his recent televised debate. Apparently his speech was hilarious. In order to be updated, I have to see this for myself. So I log in, search, and watch. They were right it was hilarious, so hilarious that I have to comment. My comment is funny and very direct. I’m not afraid to be controversial here.

The time now is 4am. How did it get so late? I really need sleep now. I should log off, but I’m feeling guilty about wasting time on these social networking sites when I have so much to do. So I go back to my real-life identity as a student and visit www.gurdian.co.uk to find some articles for my upcoming paper. Before I know it, it’s 5am and I’m still without sleep. This behavior is not healthy or normal. I begin to wonder if I’m developing insomnia, but I don’t know the exact symptoms, so I go to www.google.com and search for “Am I an insomniac?” There are 1, 450, 000 pages. Looks like a few people have this problem. So I take a quiz at www.quizilla.com/quizzes/1010889/are-you-an-insomniac. And no, I don’t have insomnia, but according to the results posted by GothicBeth2001, I’m one step away from becoming an official insomniac.

This would be a good time to end this session and get some sleep, but I’m reminded of the Al Pacino film Insomnia (2002). I’ve been obsessed with Al Pacino for as long as I can remember. I begin wondering if he has any new films coming out, so I visit www.cinemawithoutborders.com. Now I belong to a group of online film critics and fans. I don’t find anything about Al Pacino, but I notice a link to the Iranian Film Festival in San Francisco. I didn’t know Iranian film festivals happened outside Iran. I can’t believe it’s 5:30am and this is the best news I’ve heard all day. I have to tell everyone. I log on to my Gmail account and email this link: http://www.cinemawithoutborders.com/news/130/ARTICLE/1984/2009-09-12.html to my entire contact list. I’m now a news reporter, spreading groundbreaking topics to the world.

Suddenly, I pause and start thinking about the ways of modern life. In two hours and 45 minutes, I have been a social butterfly, political commentator, a student, a possible insomniac, a medical researcher, a film fanatic, a news broadcaster, and now a philosopher. Do I really have a separate online identity, or is the Internet just a forum to easily express the many aspects of my real identity?

This is all too much for 6 o’clock in the morning and it’s getting more awkward as it gets later and later, I really must rest. Hence, I close the browser, shut down my computer, and I finally get some sleep.

3 Comments »

  1. Wow Pargol, it seems like you had a wild ride. From Facebook to insomnia to Cinema Without Borders. It’s a bit crazy since we all sort of go through that every time we go online. I also thought it was great how you linked your thoughts together. I can see myself doing the same.

    Comment by georgeasaad — October 10, 2009 @ 9:49 am | Reply

  2. Hey Pargol, what you wrote is like an adventure in one night. I don’t know why but it reminded me of the animated cartoon Peter Pan. Great job Babal.

    Comment by nazgolhrh — October 11, 2009 @ 8:20 am | Reply

  3. Pargol!
    I thought your article was fantastic! You managed to create great segways between your ideas. I especially liked how you moved from the busy time on the internet sites to visiting the google site for advice on insomnia!
    I like the style of writing too!

    Comment by norashmawi — October 11, 2009 @ 2:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

